The Leadership Summit – January 7-8, 2020

Champions of Change: Creating Resilient Communities 2030

Thank you for your attendance and participation at the first Resiliency Leadership Summit;

an initiative of the Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council

Leadership Summit Agenda & Speakers

Presentation Archive

Looking to revisit a session from the 2020 Leadership Summit? Follow the links below to download presentations from each session. If you do not see a session highlighted, the panelist provided remarks in place of a presentation.

Download the 2020 Leadership Summit Program (PDF)

Tuesday, January 7

8:30 – 9:00 a.m. | Welcome & Opening Remarks

  • Sean Sullivan, Executive Director of the Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council
  • Commissioner Janet C. Long, Pinellas County Commissioner, 2019 Chair of the Coalition
  • U.S. Representative Charlie Crist, Florida’s 13th Congressional District

9:00 – 9:30 a.m. | State of the State

  • Dr. Julia Nesheiwat, P.h.D., State of Florida Chief Resilience Officer

9:30 – 10:00 a.m. | Climate and Risks to Florida Gulf Coast Communities

  • Rob Brown, Division Manager, Manatee County Parks and Natural Resources
  • Dr. Gary Mitchum, Ph.D., Professor and Associate Dean, USF College of Marine Science

10:15 – 10:45 a.m. | Water, Economy & Equity: How Norfolk Catalyzed Resilience

10:45 – 12:00 p.m. | Creating a Roadmap to Resilience: The County Perspective

  • Veronica Cintron, Bay News 9, Panel Moderator

12:00 – 1:00 p.m. | Keynote Speaker

1:00 – 2:15 p.m. | Resilient Cities Mayors Panel

  • Tim Nickens, Editor of Editorials, Tampa Bay Times, Panel Moderator
    • Mayor Jane Castor, City of Tampa
    • Mayor George Cretekos, City of Clearwater
    • Mayor Rick Kriseman, City of St. Petersburg

2:45 – 3:45 p.m. | Resilience as an Economic Development Strategy: Risk, Ratings, and Bonds

  • Hank Hodde, Resilience & Sustainability Coordinator, Pinellas County, Panel Moderator

3:45-4:45 p.m. | Big Vision Adaptation: Shifting from Pipes to Parks with Innovative Green Infrastructure

  • Kelli Hammer Levy, Interim Public Works Director, Pinellas County, Panel Moderator

Wednesday, January 8

8:30 – 9:00 a.m. | Welcome & Florida Congressional Update

  • Patrick Roff, 2020 Chair of the Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council
  • Ben Diamond, Florida House of Representatives District 68

9:00 – 10:15 a.m. | Clean Energy Strategies for Resilient Sustainable Communities

  • Susan Glickman, Southern Alliance for Clean Energy, Panel Moderator
    • Scott Haase, Director of Strategic Partnerships, Scientific Computing and Energy Analysis, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
    • Mayor Woody Brown, City of Largo
    • Brad Miller, Chief Executive Officer, Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority
    • Chris Evanich, Program Director, Schneider Electric

10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. | Planning for Recovery: Rebuilding Resilient Communities & Affordable Housing

  • Bart Weiss, Hillsborough County, Panel Moderator
    • Steve Costello, Chief Recovery Officer, City of Houston
    • Laurie Schoeman, Senior National Program Director – Resilience & Disaster Recovery, Enterprise Community Foundation
    • Gladys Cook, Resilience & Disaster Recovery Director, Florida Housing Coalition

1:00 – 2:00 p.m. | Increasing Local Resiliency & Regional Collaboration

  • Shawn College, AICP, Hillsborough County, City-County Planning Commission, Panel Moderator

2:00 – 4:00 p.m. | Regional Action Plan Priority Discussions

  • Taryn Sabia, University of South Florida School of Architecture, Center for Community Design & Research, Facilitator

Media Gallery

Click here to see all the photos!

Thank you to our 2020 Sponsors & Partners


Vinik logo
Teco logo


Rays logo
aecom logo


Duke logo
Noaa logo
TIA logo
clearwater gas logo
Wade trim logo
Nl logo
wood logo


Pinellas Realtor Association logo
vhb logo
southern group logo
CGA logo
arcadis logo
jacobs logo


St pete Chamber logo
F&F logo
vci logo
van scoyoc logo
esa logo
schneider logo
tetra logo
water street tampa logo



SPC logo
APA FL logo
FL floods logo
tampa bay times logo

See you next year!

We look forward to seeing you at the next Leadership Summit in 2021.