Agency on Bay Management


The Natural Resources Committee of the TBRPC​

The Agency on Bay Management (ABM) serves as a broad-based forum for open discussion of the myriad issues involving the estuary, and as a voice for protection, restoration, and wise use of Tampa Bay by the entire region.

This association of representatives from the recreational and commercial fisheries, industrial, regulatory, academic and scientific sectors, local, regional, state, and federal governments, and legislators was instituted in 1985 and is recognized for its contributions in the establishment of the Surface Water Improvement and Management (SWIM) Program statewide and the designation of the National Estuary Programs for Sarasota Bay and Tampa Bay.

The Agency meets on the second Thursday of most months, usually alternating between a full Agency meeting and committee meetings. Ms. Barbara Sheen Todd serves as Chair of the ABM and City of Largo Mayor Woody Brown serves as Vice Chair.

Meeting Materials & Resources

ABM Meeting – December 14, 2023
ABM NR/EIR Meeting – November 1, 2023
ABM Meeting – September 14, 2023
ABM NR/EIR Meeting – August 16, 2023
ABM Meeting – June 8, 2023
Artificial Turf Resources
ABM NR/EIR Meeting – March 29, 2023
ABM Meeting – March 9, 2023
ABM Legislative Review Subcommittee Meeting – February 16, 2023
2023 ABM Committee and Member Organizations

TBRPC Council Representation:

  • Gubernatorial Appointee: Barbara Sheen Todd, Chair
  • Mayor: Woody Brown, Vice Chair
  • Councilman: Peter Altman
  • Councilwoman: Alison Fernandez
  • Vice Mayor: Carlos Diaz
  • Commissioner: Mary Beth Wetzel
  • Council Member: Andrew Knapp
  • Vice Mayor: Thomas Reid

Member Organizations:

  • Audubon Florida
  • City of Clearwater
  • City of St. Petersburg
  • City of Tampa
  • City of Temple Terrace
  • Eckerd College
  • Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County
  • Florida Department of Environmental Protection
  • Florida Department of Transportation
  • Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
  • Friends of the Hillsborough River
  • Gulfstream Natural Gas
  • Hillsborough County
  • Hillsborough County City-County Planning Commission
  • Joe Island Clams
  • MacDill Air Force Base
  • Manatee County
  • Manatee Port Authority
  • Mosaic Company
  • NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service
  • Pasco County
  • Pinellas County
  • Port of St. Petersburg
  • Port Tampa Bay
  • Sierra Club
  • Southwest Florida Water Management District
  • Tampa Bay Conservancy
  • Tampa Bay Estuary Program
  • Tampa Bay Pilots Association
  • Tampa Bay Watch
  • Tampa Bay Water
  • Tampa Bay Waterkeeper
  • Tampa Electric Company
  • UF IFAS/FL Sea Grant
  • US Army Corps of Engineers
  • US Fish and Wildlife Service
  • US Geological Survey
  • USF College of Marine Science/PORTS
  • WSP
ABM Meeting Operating Procedures

The Agency meets on the second Thursday of most months, usually alternating between a full Agency meeting and committee meetings.

Download Resources:

Legislative Review Committee (LRC)

Monitors pertinent state and federal legislation as it relates to Tampa Bay management issues and drafts new bay management legislation for approval by the Agency and TBRPC, and sponsorship by key legislative leaders.

Natural Resources / Environmental Impact Review (NR/EIR) Committee
Reviews significant developments and other projects involving Tampa Bay for environmental impacts and prepares formal comments to the TBRPC or to appropriate permitting agencies regarding mitigation and restorative measures. Monitors and evaluates long-term or broader issues affecting the proper management of Tampa Bay through proactive planning.
Latest News