Transportation Summit Banner logo


FEBRUARY 16, 2017


Thank you to all who joined the Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council to discuss the future of transportation in the Tampa Bay region!

Presentation slides from the event are available for download. Click the "Presentation - PDF" link next to a presentation title (below) to view that speaker's presentation slides. (Note: Not alll event speakers used slides in their presentation.)


Event Program


Registration, Networking, and Continental Breakfast



  • Vice Mayor Patrick Roff , TBRPC Chair

    Accessing State and Federal Transportation Funding

  • Paul Steinman, FDOT District 7 Secretary
  • James Christian, Administrator, FHWA Florida Division
  • Carl Mikyska, Executive Director, MPOAC
  • Innovations in Transportation/Transit in Tampa Bay

  • Brad Miller, CEO, PSTA
  • Katharine Eagan, CEO, HART
  • Beth Alden, Executive Director, Hillsborough MPO
  • Whit Blanton, Executive Director, Forward Pinellas
  • David Hutchinson, Executive Director, Sarasota/Manatee MPO
  • Advocating for Transit Priorities in Tampa Bay

  • Sean Sullivan, Executive Director, TBRPC
  • Ray Chiaramonte, CEO, TBARTA (Presentation Slides - PDF)
  • Angela Crist, Executive Director, Suncoast League of Cities (Presentation Slides - PDF)

    Luncheon Keynote Speaker

  • Financing Public Transportation and Defining an MPO Governance Model, Gary Gallegos, CEO, San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG) (Presentation Slides - PDF)

    Afternoon Session A: Transportation Safety

  • Moderator - Beth Alden, Executive Director, Hillsborough MPO (Presentation Slides - PDF)
  • Safety Considerations for Pubilc Transit - Demian Miller, Tindale Oliver (Presentation Slides - PDF)
  • Distracted Driving - John Pecchio, American Automobile Association (Presentation Slides - PDF)
  • Trucking Safety - Dr. Ken Armstrong, President and CEO, Florida Trucking Association (Presentation Slides - PDF)

    Afternoon Session B: Trends in Place-making

  • Moderator - Whit Blanton, Executive Director, Forward Pinellas
  • Tampa and St. Petersburg Innovation Districts - Clarence Eng, Kimley-Horn (Presentation Slides - PDF)
  • Measuring Multimodal Accessibility - Franco Saraceno, Renaissance Planning (Presentation Slides - PDF)
  • Strategic Miami Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Plan - Aileen Bouclé, Miami-Dade MPO (Presentation Slides - PDF)

    Afternoon Session C: Technololgy's Impact on Transportation Planning

  • Moderator - Scott Pringle, Florida Planning Practice Leader, Jacobs Engineering
  • Impact of Innovation and Technology on the Planning Process - Bob Clifford, WSP Parsons Brinkerhoff (Presentation Slides - PDF)
  • Planning for Connected and Automated Vehicles - Bob Frey, Tampa Hillsborough Expressway Authority (Presentation Slides - PDF)
  • Hyperloop and Other Technologies - John Kulpa, AECOM (Presentation Slides - PDF)

    Afternoon Session D: Economic Development

  • Moderator - Mike Meidel, Director, Pinellas County Economic Development
  • Freight Logistics - Brian Hunter, FDOT (Presentation Slides - PDF)
  • Port Tampa Bay Vision 2030 - Ram Kancharla, Port Tampa Bay (Presentation Slides - PDF)
  • Rail's Role in Goods Movement - Bob O'Malley, CSX (Presentation Slides - PDF)





    Contact Information
    For more information on the Innovations in Regional Transportation Summit, please contact Ms. Wren Krahl, PHR at TBRPC, (727) 570-5151 ext. 22 or




    Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone by calling (727) 570-5151 or in writing to 4000 Gateway Centre Blvd., Suite 100, Pinellas Park, Florida 33782. Copyright 2013 Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council. All Rights Reserved.